1403 - Dental (Historical View)** Effective: 7/7/2017 2:07:49 PM - 9/5/2017 4:19:41 PM **
Benefits and Insurance
- Employee Relations Officers
- Personnel Officers
- Personnel Transactions Staff
- Personnel Transactions Supervisors
- Provides information on the state administered dental insurance program.
- Describes the roles of departmental Human Resources (HR) staff to ensure that only eligible employees and dependents are enrolled in state-sponsored dental coverage.
The California Department of Human Resources (CalHR) administers the state's dental insurance program and sets policy and procedures on enrollment and eligibility.
Eligibility for participation in the state’s dental benefit program is governed by the California Public Employees’ Retirement System’s (CalPERS) Public Employees’ Medical and Hospital Care Act, which also determines eligibility for participation in the state’s health benefit program.
Departmental HR staff are responsible for ensuring that only eligible employees and their dependents are enrolled in state-sponsored dental benefits.
Eligibility and Enrollment
Employees are eligible for dental benefits if they:
- Have a permanent appointment or a limited-term appointment with a duration of more than six months and,
- Work at least half-time.
A Permanent Intermittent (PI) employee may be eligible to enroll in dental benefits if he/she has earned a minimum of 480 paid hours at the end of a control period, or at least 960 paid hours in two consecutive control periods. The control periods are January 1 to June 30, and July 1 to December 31.
Certain seasonal Lifeguards in Bargaining Unit (BU) 7 and seasonal Firefighters in BU 8 are eligible for state-sponsored dental benefits. Refer to the bargaining unit contracts on the CalHR website for current eligibility information.
Eligible employees may enroll in a dental plan within the first 60 days of employment or eligibility, or during the annual open enrollment period. Open enrollment for dental benefits is held each fall and allows eligible employees to:
- Change dental plans
- Add/delete eligible dependents
- Cancel coverage
Employer contribution rates are found in the bargaining unit contracts and in the Benefits Calculator on the CalHR website. This calculator allows employees to compare dental premiums and see the employer contribution rates based on their bargaining unit. Employees can also see the amount that will be deducted from or added to their pay warrant based on the dental plan they choose.
24-Month Prepaid Dental Plan Restriction
Newly hired eligible employees enrolling into dental benefits must enroll in a prepaid dental plan until they complete 24 months of state service. After completing 24 months of service, they may enroll into a Delta Dental plan.
Exception to this are:
- Bargaining Unit (BU) 6 employees.
- Employees who do not have a prepaid plan provider within 50 mile of their home.
- Employees hired prior to 1993.
- Employees who worked at the University of California (UC) and had the UC Delta plan.
- Employee in Consolidated Benefits (CoBen).
12 Month CCPOA Western Dental Plan Restriction
All newly hired eligible employees in BU 6 enrolling into dental benefits must enroll into the CCPOA Western Dental plan for 12 months to be eligible for enrollment in the CCPOA Primary Dental plan.
Exception to this are:
- Employees who do not have a prepaid plan provider within 50 mile of their home.
- Prior CCPOA Primary Dental plan eligibility as an employee.
Dependents eligible for dental benefits include the employee’s spouse, registered domestic partner, and their children up to age 26, including natural born, adopted (or children placed for adoption), stepchildren, and other children for whom the employee has assumed a parent-child relationship.
The Dependent Eligibility Verification Checklist (CalHR Form 781) is on the CalHR website, and assists the departmental human resources (HR) office to ensure that only eligible dependents are enrolled in benefits. Employees and departmental HR staff must complete and retain the Checklist for every enrollment transaction that involves adding dependents to health, dental, or vision benefits; and for the annual recertification of parent-child relationship (PCR) dependents. Employees must initial and sign the Checklist where indicated, and provide the required documents to substantiate dependent eligibility. Departmental HR staff and employee must complete all relevant sections of the Checklist before enrolling dependents.
The Checklist includes three sections:
- Section 1–Indicates the required forms and acceptable documents for enrollment as substantiation of dependent eligibility;
- Section 2–Documents that the employee acknowledges their obligations with respect to enrolling dependents; and
- Section 3–Documents that appropriate steps were taken by HR staff.
HR staff must provide a copy of the completed and signed Checklist to the employee. The Checklist must also be retained in the employee’s Official Personnel File (OPF) along with current enrollment forms and the supporting documentation used to substantiate dependent eligibility. These documents should not be purged from the employee’s OPF.
When an employee is appointed by another state department, proper retention of these documents enables the HR office in the receiving department to see that all required documentation was submitted and reviewed prior to enrollment.
The following information provides guidance for determining and documenting dependent eligibility for the different dependent types:
Spouse/Registered Domestic Partner
Only the employee’s legally-joined spouse or registered domestic partner may be enrolled in dental benefits. Under no circumstances shall:
- A registered domestic partner be enrolled as the employee’s spouse (registered domestic partners must be enrolled as registered domestic partners); and
- Any individual, other than a legally-joined spouse or registered domestic partner, be enrolled as the employee’s spouse or registered domestic partner.
The employee must provide a marriage certificate, Declaration of Domestic Partnership, Certificate of Registry of Marriage, or affidavit of marriage/domestic partnership demonstrating a legally-recognized marriage or domestic partnership. If the date of marriage/registration is not within the preceding 60 days, the employee must also provide a copy of the front page of their most recent federal or state tax return or any of the following documents dated within the last 60 days: statement of account, household bill, or other document showing financial interdependency (it is acceptable to black out financial information). The document must include the names of the employee and dependent, address and date, and must confirm the dependent as the employee’s spouse/domestic partner.
For newly married employees who submit a Certificate of Registry of Marriage, he/she is required to provide a copy of his/her marriage certificate within one year. It is the responsibility of the department to create a follow-up process to ensure that the marriage certificate is obtained from the employee within this time period.
Ex-spouses and ex-domestic partners are not eligible to be enrolled and are not permitted to remain as dependents for dental benefits under any circumstances.
It is essential that HR staff, supervisors, and managers communicate to employees that it is the obligation of the employee to inform their HR office in writing within 60 days of the dissolution of a marriage or domestic partnership and to submit an enrollment cancellation of the former spouse/domestic partner.
If an employee is court-ordered to provide coverage for an ex-spouse or ex-domestic partner, it is the obligation of the employee, not the state, to provide that coverage.
Only natural, adopted (including children placed for adoption), or stepchildren of the employee may be enrolled as "children." The employee must provide a birth certificate, official hospital birth record, adoption certificate, or court document demonstrating that the employee is the legal parent of the child. Birth certificates must be reviewed to verify that the employee is listed as one of the birth parents on the birth certificate. If the name of the birth parent has changed since the birth certificate was issued, additional supporting documentation must be submitted to validate the name change.
For employees who submit a hospital birth record, he/she is required to provide a copy of the official birth certificate within one year. It is the responsibility of the department to create a follow-up process to ensure that the official birth certificate is obtained from the employee within this time period.
Under no circumstances shall employees enroll children who are not their natural, adopted, or stepchildren, as "children." Children of a registered domestic partner are to be enrolled using the reason code for "domestic partner children." The employee must provide a birth certificate, official hospital birth record, adoption certificate, or court document demonstrating that the registered domestic partner is the legal parent of the child.
Other children for whom the employee has assumed a parent-child relationship must meet the eligibility criteria for enrollment as a PCR dependent (see Parent-Child Relationship Dependents section) and the employee must provide appropriate documentation to substantiate eligibility.
Parent-Child Relationship Dependents (PCRs)
In a parent-child relationship, the employee has intentionally assumed parental status or parental duties for a child who is not their natural born, adopted, or stepchild. An eligible PCR dependent must be under age 26.
PCR Dependents Enrolled Only in Dental and/or Vision Benefits (e.g., not enrolled in Health Benefits)
Employee must complete and submit the Dental Plan Enrollment Authorization (STD. 692), CalHR Affidavit of Parent-Child Relationship (CalHR Form 025), Dependent Eligibility Verification Checklist (CalHR Form 781), and the required verification documents.
Departmental HR staff must follow the certification process in accordance with CalPERS Circular Letter #600-008-15. Only upon receipt and review of documents provided by the employee to substantiate an eligible relationship with the dependent shall the child be enrolled.
Additionally, departmental HR staff are responsible for tracking their PCR dependent enrollments in the state’s dental benefits (including dependents of transferred employees) and notifying employees of the annual PCR recertification requirement.
A sample tracking tool has been developed for departments to track enrollment of PCR dependents. The tracking tool is available in the HR Net section of CalHR’s website.
Employees must recertify each PCR dependent’s eligibility annually, by the last day of the employee’s birth month, by submitting a new signed and dated, CalHR Affidavit of Parent-Child Relationship (CalHR Form 025), Dependent Eligibility Verification Checklist (CalHR Form 781), and the required verification documents to substantiate a continuance of the parent-child relationship.
Departmental HR staff are responsible for:
- Tracking the annual recertification of PCR dependent enrollments;
- Notifying employees of the annual recertification requirement;
- Determining the continuance of a parent-child relationship as evidenced upon review of documents provided by the employee;
- Administratively disenrolling PCR dependents that fail to recertify their eligibility; and
- Offering COBRA continuation of coverage to eligible dependents within 14 days from the loss of coverage.
A sample letter that departments can use to notify employees of the annual PCR recertification requirement is available in the HR Net section of CalHR’s website. Employees should be notified at least 60 days in advance of the recertification deadline.
PCR Dependents Enrolled in both Health and Dental Benefits
Employee must complete and submit a Health Benefit Plan Enrollment Form (CalPERS Form HBD-12), Declaration of Health Coverage (HBD-12A), Dental Plan Enrollment Authorization (STD. 692), CalPERS Affidavit of Parent-Child Relationship (CalPERS Form HBD-40), the Dependent Eligibility Verification Checklist (CalHR Form 781), and the required verification documents.
If an employee has submitted the CalPERS Affidavit of Parent-Child Relationship (CalPERS Form HBD-40) for enrollment of a PCR dependent in the state’s health benefit program, the employee is not required to submit the CalHR Affidavit of Parent-Child Relationship (CalHR Form 025) for enrollment in the state’s dental benefit as receipt of the CalPERS Affidavit of Parent-Child Relationship (CalPERS Form HBD-40) is sufficient.
Employee must recertify each PCR dependent’s eligibility annually by submitting a new signed and dated CalPERS Affidavit of Parent-Child Relationship (CalPERS Form HBD-40), Dependent Eligibility Verification Checklist (CalHR Form 781), and the required verification documents to substantiate a continuance of the parent-child relationship. Follow the recertification process in accordance with CalPERS Circular Letter #600-058-12.
CalPERS is responsible for notifying employees of the annual recertification requirement and administratively disenrolling PCR dependents that fail to recertify their eligibility for participation in the state’s health benefits program. These dependents are identified for departmental HR staff on the CalPERS departmental monthly “Employer Health Event” Cognos report.
Departmental HR staff are responsible for:
- Reviewing the CalPERS Cognos reports monthly to identify employees with PCR dependents that were disenrolled from the state’s health benefits because they failed to recertify their eligibility;
- Administratively disenrolling ineligible PCR dependents from the state’s dental plan; and
- Offering COBRA continuation coverage to eligible dependents within 14 days from the loss of coverage.
The CalPERS Cognos reports are available on the my|CalPERS website.
Disabled Adult Dependents
A child age 26 and over who is incapable of self-support because of a mental or physical condition may be eligible for dental benefits if the disability existed prior to reaching age 26 and the dependent has been continuously since age 26, as certified by a licensed physician. CalPERS determines the eligibility of a disabled adult child upon receipt of the required Member Questionnaire for the CalPERS Disabled Dependent Health Benefit (CalPERS Form HBD-98) and the Medical Report for the CalPERS Disabled Dependent Benefit (CalPERS Form HBD-34) and will inform the departmental HR office of its determination. The initial certification of the Disabled Dependent must occur either (1) within 60 days before and ending 60 days after the child’s 26th birthday; the employee and child must currently be enrolled for dental benefits, or (2) within 60 days of a newly eligible employee’s initial enrollment in dental benefits.
Departmental HR staff must follow the certification process for disabled dependents in accordance with the State Health Benefits Guide and contact the dental plan carrier of each disabled adult dependent, within 30 days of the dependent reaching age 26, to update the dependent’s eligibility to ensure no lapse in coverage.
Recertification should be evaluated on a case-by-case basis. The information provided by the physician in the Medical Report for the CalPERS Disabled Dependent Benefit (CalPERS Form HDB-34) and the status of the disability (e.g., permanent, extended) will determine if, and when, recertification is necessary. For example, if the dependent’s current disability renders him or her incapable of self-support, but the disability should resolve or improve sufficiently for the dependent to be capable of self-support at some point in time, recertification should then be completed at that time.
Departmental HR staff are responsible for:
- Developing a follow-up process to ensure that recertification is obtained from the employee and the dependent’s physician in a timely manner;
- Disenrolling ineligible dependents from the state’s dental program; and
Departmental HR staff are responsible for monitoring the eligibility of employees and their dependents, and for holding employees accountable for failure to notify their HR office in writing within 60 days of a change to dependent eligibility.
Employees may be held accountable if any documentation is determined to be inaccurate or fraudulent, or for failure to notify their HR office of changes to dependent eligibility. This may include reimbursing their employer and the dental benefit plan for expenditures incurred for dental claims, processing fees, administrative expenses, and attorney fees on behalf of any ineligible family member, and disciplinary action.
CalHR may monitor eligibility and enrollment processes and may hold departmental management and/or employees accountable for compliance.
Retiree Eligibility and Enrollment
CalPERS administers the retiree dental program on behalf of CalHR. Retiring employees who, at the time of enrollment, meet the eligibility requirements of Government Code Section 22959.4, may enroll in dental coverage and are subject to the same eligibility criteria and dependent verification procedures as active employees.
Departmental HR staff are responsible for enrolling employees retiring from state service in dental benefits. They can enroll the retiree prior to their separation date through the my|CalPERS system or send the enrollment document to CalPERS.
The bargaining unit designation of the employee determines the plans available to the employee. The state pays all or part of the employee’s premium, depending on the plan selected and the number of dependents enrolled.
Currently, the state offers six dental plans:
- Delta Dental for an indemnity type plan referred to as Delta Dental PPO plus Premier;
- Delta Preferred Provider Option (PPO), and
- Four prepaid plans; DeltaCare USA, Premier Access, SafeGuard, and Western Dental.
BU 6 employees have their dental insurance provided through their respective union-sponsored trust and BU 5 employees who are members of the California Association of Highway Patrolmen (CAHP) have their own indemnity dental plan, but may enroll in any of the four state-sponsored prepaid dental plans.
Employees in BU 5 and BU 6 may enroll in their respective union-sponsored plan through their personnel office using the Dental Plan Enrollment Authorization (STD. 692) form, following the normal enrollment procedures. Once enrolled, employees in these bargaining units should contact their union directly regarding questions or issues regarding their dental coverage.
For current details of the dental plans, refer to the Dental Program section of the Benefits Administration Manual web page.
- Bargaining / Contracts
- California Code of Regulations, title 2, sections 599.500 to 599.518
- Government Code sections 22750 - 22948
- Government Code sections 22950 - 22959
- Employee Dental: Frequently Asked Questions
- Health, Dental, and Vision: Frequently Asked Questions
- Retiree Dental: Frequently Asked Questions
- Affidavit of Marriage/Domestic Partnership: Affidavit of Marriage/Domestic Partnership
- CalHR 025: Affidavit of Parent-Child Relationship
- CalHR 781 : Dependent Eligibility Verification Checklist
- CalPERS HBD-12: Health Benefit Plan Enrollment Form
- CalPERS HBD-12A : Declaration of Health Coverage
- CalPERS HBD-34: Medical Report for the CalPERS Disabled Dependent Benefit
- CalPERS HBD-40: Affidavit of Parent-Child Relationship
- CalPERS HBD-98: Member Questionnaire for the CalPERS Disabled Dependent Health Benefit
- STD 692: Dental Plan Enrollment Authorization
- PML 1991-002: PML 1991-002 - 1/10/1991 - Dental and Vision Eligibility for Limited-Term Appointees
- PML 1991-009: PML 1991-009 - 2/15/1991 - Change of Designated Bargaining Unit and Dental Plan Deduction Code
- PML 1992-044: PML 1992-044 - 3/31/1992 - Delta Dental Automatic Conversion - Enhanced to Basic and Vice Versa
- PML 1994-057: PML 1994-057 - 11/2/1994 - 24 Month Prepaid Dental Plan Restriction
- PML 2005-024: PML 2005-024 - 8/9/2005 - Six Month Limitation of Retroactive Dental Premium Reimbursements
- PML 2006-018: PML 2006-018 - 6/20/2006 - Universal Administrative Fee
- PML 2011-006: PML 2011-006 - 2/16/2011 - New DPA 025 - Affidavit for Dependent Children, Parent Child Relationship - Dental and Vision Programs
- PML 2011-040: PML 2011-040 - 10/19/2011 - Dental Plan Enrollment Changes for Non-Represented Members of CCPOA
- PML 2013-036: PML 2013-036 - 10/30/2013 - Delta Dental Premier Basic and Enhanced Plans – Name Change and Enhanced Network
- PML 2015-001: PML 2015-001 - 1/12/2015 - Dependent Eligibility Verification Checklist and Guidance for Determining and Documenting Dependent Eligibility
- PML 2015-024: PML 2015-024 - 9/11/2015 - 2015 Open Enrollment Period; 2016 Dental and Vision Plan Premiums; Consolidated Benefits (CoBen) and Employer Health Benefit Contributions
- PML 2016-022: PML 2016-022 - 9/12/2016 - 2016 Open Enrollment Period, 2017 Dental and Vision Plan Premiums, Consolidated Benefits, and Employer Health Benefit Contributions
- 1406: Consolidated Benefits (CoBen)
- 1407: FlexElect
- 1408: Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA)
- Benefits Administration Manual section 500: Dental Program
- Benefits Calculator: Benefits Calculator
- CalHR Website: CalHR Website
- CalPERS Circular Letter 600-008-15: Eligibility Criteria for Dependents in a Parent-Child Relationship
- CalPERS Circular Letter 600-026-13: Dental Enrollment Process For Newly Retiring Employees
- CalPERS Circular Letter 600-058-12: Recertification for Dependents in a Parent-Child Relationship
- CalPERS Website: CalPERS Website
- Dental Benefits Handbook for Active Employees: Dental Benefits Handbook for Active Employees
- Dental Benefits Handbook for Retired Employees: Dental Benefits Handbook for Retired Employees
- my|CalPERS Website: Cognos Reports: my|CalPERS Website: Cognos Reports
- Open Enrollment Toolkit: Information and resources to assist HR Professionals in completing open enrollment forms.
- Sample Notice to Employees: Annual PCR Rectification Requirement: Sample Notice to Employees: Annual PCR Rectification Requirement
- Sample PCR Dependent Enrollment Tracking Tool: Sample PCR Dependent Enrollment Tracking Tool
- State Health Benefits Guide: State Health Benefits Guide
Dental Program Analyst , Dental
Chief (Acting), Benefits Division